Up coming fixtures

 Captain’s Prize (Shane Foley) Qualifiers on Saturday 13th & Sunday 14th July

Borris Open Week 2013

 Senior Open on Tuesday 25th June.

Nine Hole Singles on Friday 28th June.



                                                    Borris Golf Club Open Week 2013                                                 

 Saturday 29th June:    Two Person Team Stableford, (any combination)


Sunday 30th June:     Four Person Team Stableford, (any combination)


Monday 1st July:        Ladies 3 Person Rumble

                                    5pm 18 Holes Mens Foursomes Stroke


Tuesday 2nd July:      Men’s 18 Holes Singles (stableford)

                                    5.30pm 9 Holes 2 Person Mixed Stroke


Wednesday 3rd July:   18 Holes Fourball Stableford, (any combination)


 Thursday 4th July:     Ladies 18 Holes 2 Person Team


 Friday 5th July:          Men’s 18 Holes Singles Stableford)


 Saturday 6th July:      4 Person Scramble Stroke, (any combination)


 Sunday 7th July:        Four Person Team Stableford, (any combination)





 Nine Hole Singles on Friday 21st June.

Open Singles on Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd June.

Cullen Trophy team plays Millicent Golf Club on Sunday 23rd June. Senior Open on Tuesday 25th June.

Borris Golf Club Open Week begins on Saturday 29th June. 

Fixtures: Nine hole singles on Friday 14th at 6pm.

Open Scotch Foursomes on Sat 15th and Sun 16th June.

Open Singles on Wednesday 12th of June. Nine Hole Singles on Friday 14th June. Scotch Foursomes (any combination) on Saturday 15th & Sunday 16th June.

Ladies Fixtures:  Ladies Committee Prize on  Thursday 13th June.
Time sheet in Club house.

Borris Golf Club Development Classic (€100 per team) on Friday 7th, Saturday 8th & Sunday 9th of June.

Results: 9 Hole Singles 6-6-13: 1st Mick Hanrahan (15) 26pts, 2nd Thomas Foley (16) 23pts, 3rd Pat Leahy (20) 22pts.


Barton Cup Team lost to Carlow on Monday 3rd of June. 

Results: President’s Prize (Mr Justin Manning)

Mr Justin Manning was absolutely delighted with the great turnout for his President’s Prize. The fabulous weather over the weekend led to some wonderful golf. The competition was 18 hole single stroke play with a 9 hole play off on Sunday evening. MJ Doherty qualified with a 64 nett and was a deserving winner over the 27 holes. 1st MJ Doherty (11) 98.5, 2nd Martin Scallen (13) 99.5, 3rd Pat Leahy (21) 99.5, Gross: Martin Monaghan (6) 101, 4th Ger Carroll (13) 99.5, 5th Jim Kielty (17) 101.5, 6th Louis Cosgrave (17) 103.5, 7th Tom Byrne (23) 103.5, 8th AF Mitchell (17) 104.5. Past Presidents: Ian Rea. Saturday Prize: John Joyce (3) 66, Sunday Prize: David Holmes (12) 67.  CSS: Saturday 70. Sunday 69.

Provincial Towns team lost to Wexford on Saturday 1st June.

Results: 9 Hole Singles: 1st Brian Fox (21) 21pts, 2nd Des Murphy (25) 21pts, 3rd John Barcoe (13) 20pts.

Central Towns team lost to Mt Wolseley on Friday 31st  May.

Open Seniors Tuesday 28th May: 1st Michael Murphy (14) 42pts, 2nd John Brennan (17) 40pts,  3rd Bob McGrath (27) 40pts. 

Open Two Person Team 25th/26th May: 1st Paddy Molloy (20) & Sarah Molloy (20) 58pts, 2nd Pierce Brennan (10) & Kevin Ryan (14) 55pts, 3rd Des Murphy (25) & Michael Dundon (19) 53pts.

The Pierce Purcell team did exceptionally well on Saturday 25th in qualifying for the semi-finals. They beat Mt Juliet in the semi-final on Sunday morning and were beaten in the final on Sunday afternoon by Callan.

The Cullen Trophy team beat Glencullen on Sunday 26th May. 

Results: 9 Hole Singles (back nine) 24-5-13: 1st John Brennan (17) 21pts, 2nd Kevin Ryan (14) 21pts, 3rd Brendan Kiernan (12) 20pts. The 16th hole was drawn as birdie hole and it was won by Billy Dermody.

Open Singles 18th/19th May: 1st Johnny Prendergast (12) 44pts, 2nd James Todd (12) 43pts, 3rd Barry Bambrick (14) 41pts, Gross Jamie Dunne (4) 34pts, 5th Joe Gorman (11) 41pts. 

Provincial Towns team beat Ballymoney on Saturday 18th May.

Results: 9 Hole Singles 17-5-13: 1st John Brennan (17) 22pts, 2nd Pat Leahy (21) 19pts, 3rd Edmund Gallahue (10) 19pts. The first hole was drawn as birdie hole and the €78 was won by Edmund Gallahue.

Open Four Person Team Event: 1st Eileen Kelly (16), Tim Kelly (17), Bernie Byrne (13) & Pat Leahy (21) 98pts. 2nd Martin Monaghan (6), Roy O’Neill (14), Michael O’Neill (12), Brendan Rowan (12) 91pts. 3rd Brian Fox (21), Cyril Hughes (16), Michael McCarthy (21) & Pat Cullen (17) 91pts.

 The Brennan Cup team lost to Wicklow on Saturday 11th May.

The Barton Cup team had an excellent victory over reigning champions Waterford on Sunday 12th May.

Friday 10th May: 9 Hole Singles: 1st Moling Reddy (13) 21pts, 2nd AF Mitchell (17) 19pts, 3rd Ger Carroll (13) 18pts. Birdie Hole Rolls-over (pot €48)

Open singles: Wednesday 8th May

1st: Brendan Kiernan (12) 40pts, 2nd: Luke Roche (8) 39pts, 3rd: Mick Cody (16) 37pts. CSS 37

Junior Scratch Cup Played on Sunday 5th & Monday 6th May

Ted Joyce won the Milo Dundon scratch cup for the second time in his career with great aplomb on what was a very testing course with tough pin positions.


1st Ted Joyce (5) 68

2nd Gearóid Purcell (4) 76 Abbeyleix

3rd Jamie Dunne (4) 78


1st Declan Roberts (7) 70

2nd PJ Dowing (10) 71

3rd Brendan Joyce (7) 72

Intermediate Scratch


1st Colin Codd (12) 80 New Ross

2nd Johnny Prendergast (12) 80

3rd Ger Carroll (13) 80


1st Kevin Ryan (16) 64

2nd John Quinn (16) 67

3rd Pat Doyle (15) 67 New Ross

Friday 3rd May: 9 Hole Singles: 1stAF Mitchell (17) 23pts, Pat Leahy (21) 22pts, Brendan Kiernan (12) 21pts. Birdie hole rolls over.

The South Leinster team beat Castlecomer on Saturday 4th May.

Open Seniors 30th April

1st: John Joe Nolan (20) 41pts, 2nd:John Tuite (13) 41pts, 3rd:Moling Reddy (14) 41pts. CSS 38

The Barton Cup team play Waterford on Sunday 12th May.

The Brennan Cup team play Wicklow on Saturday 11th May.

Fixtures: Open Singles on Wednesday 8th May. 9 Hole Singles on Friday 10th May. Open Four Person Team Event (any combination) on Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th May.

This entry was posted in Fixtures. Bookmark the permalink.